Celebrating years of inspiring online art/design education

Constitution Day 2017

by Sessions Staff | September 16, 2017

Sunday 17th September 2017 is Constitution Day, the 230th anniversary of the signing of the Constitution of the United States in 1787.

Constitution Day is celebrated by schools and colleges in the United States with the goal of promoting a greater understanding of the history of this important historical document and event.  Schools that participate in the U.S. Federal Student Aid system need to foster awareness and understanding of this important event each year.

1. What does the Constitution say?

We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility,provide for the common defence, promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America.

Article. I.

Section. 1.

All legislative Powers herein granted shall be vested in a Congress of the United States, which shall consist of a Senate and House of Representatives.

Section. 2.

The House of Representatives shall be composed of Members chosen every second Year by the People of the several States, and the Electors in each State shall have the Qualifications requisite for Electors of the most numerous Branch of the State Legislature. (View the full text.)

2. What did writing the Constitution do?

The Constitution established the rules and separate powers of the three branches of the federal government (the legislature, the executive, and the judiciary) and  outlined the principle of federalism.

Akrobat font set

3. What are some important facts about the Constitution?

The U.S. Constitution in the oldest national constitution currently in use. Did you know the following facts about the Constitution?

  • The constitution was signed In Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.
  • 39 people signed the Constitution, including Benjamin Franklin, George Washington, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison.
  • The constitution was ratified by 11 states: Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maryland, South Carolina, New Hampshire, Virginia, and New York, ratified the Constitution.

NOTE: This year’s Constitution Day post was presented using the font Aleo. Aleo is a contemporary slab serif typeface by Alessio Laiso, a Dublin-based typographer and software designer. The font is smooth and readable with proportionate and balanced letterforms that render well on screen and in print. The typeface has six styles — Light, Light italic, Regular, Regular Italic, Bold, and Bold Italic.

Sessions Staff is a restless soul who loves to share Campus News stories with current and prospective students.