Constitution Day 2016

by Sessions Staff | September 17, 2016
Saturday 17th September 2016 is Constitution Day, the 229th anniversary of the signing of the Constitution of the United States in 1787. Constitution Day is celebrated by schools and colleges across the United States in an effort to promote a greater understanding of the history of this important historical document and event.  As a school that participates in the U.S. Federal Student Aid system, Sessions College has an annual program to foster awareness and understanding of this important event.

1. What does the Constitution say?

We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility,provide for the common defence, promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America.

Article. I.

Section. 1.

All legislative Powers herein granted shall be vested in a Congress of the United States, which shall consist of a Senate and House of Representatives.

Section. 2.

The House of Representatives shall be composed of Members chosen every second Year by the People of the several States, and the Electors in each State shall have the Qualifications requisite for Electors of the most numerous Branch of the State Legislature. (View the full text.)

2. What did writing the Constitution do?

The Constitution established the rules and separate powers of the three branches of the federal government (the legislature, the executive, and the judiciary) and  outlined the principle of federalism.

Akrobat font set

3. What are some important facts relating to the Constitution?

The U.S. Constitution in the oldest national constitution currently in use. Did you know the following facts about the Constitution?

  • The constitution was signed In Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.
  • 39 people signed the Constitution, including Benjamin Franklin, George Washington, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison.
  • The constitution was ratified by 11 states: Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maryland, South Carolina, New Hampshire, Virginia, and New York, ratified the Constitution.

NOTE: This year’s Constitution Day announcement was presented using the font Akrobat. Akrobat was designed by the independent type foundry Fontfabric. Akrobat is a very contemporary sans serif font with a condensed shape. There are eight weights in the font family, making the typeface very versatile. You can download it for free at this website:

Sessions Staff is a restless soul who loves to share Campus News stories with current and prospective students.